Main Page - Latest News

online casino

Texas Secedes! (A Sesquicentennial Moment)

One hundred and fifty years ago today, February 1, 1861, Texas seceded from the Union and joined the seven Southern states that comprised the inchoate Confederacy. 

In the months following the bombardment of Ft. Sumter in South Carolina, Virginia, North Carolina, and Tennessee also seceded to complete the Confederate States of America.

The remaining slave-holding states of Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, and Delaware remained under Federal control throughout the ensuing war and were exempt from the Emancipation Proclamation.