Main Page - Latest News

online casino

Today in the Confederacy: Confederate Congress Convenes.

As the secession of the Southern States proceeded peacefully without military intervention from US President Buchanan, the Provisional Government of the Confederate States of America convened in Montgomery, Alabama on February 4, 1861. On this same date in 1789, George Washington became President of the United States. John Tyler, tenth President of the United States, was one of the delegates to the convention.

The convention delegates drafted a constitution, which was identical to the U.S. document except that the president served a single six year term instead of four years, and slavery, though not the importation of slaves, was protected. Jefferson Davis, US Senator from Mississippi and a West Point graduate, was selected as the new, and only, president of the Confederate States of America.